AKACOCOLOPEZ

El Camino de Santiago

Posted in Camino by akacocolopez on September 30, 2010

Whenever people ask me how my trip was I don’t know what to say. What is there to say? It was more than anything I could have expected or imagined and untranslatable. The first couple of weeks during my pilgrimage to Finisterre, Spain from St. Jean Pied de Port, France via the Pyrenees I was extremely focused on the act of walking I committed myself to. I was a walker and it was what I was there for, period. Reflection trumped reveling.  As time passed on I found myself opening up to the people around me and by the end I finally learned to have fun. It seemed that many people I encountered along the way had big decisions to make and were using the time to think over their choices. But as others became more focused on the whereabouts of their mind, I let mine drift away and became more in tune with the Earth that surrounded me. There were many times that I was reminded of one of my favorite lines from Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist, “The secret to happiness is to see all marvels of the world, and never to forget the drops of oil in the spoon.” What I learned was that I should spend less time thinking and more time living.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Enid Christine Biaggi said, on September 30, 2010 at 9:27 am

    gracias por compartir estas bellezas de fotos….podrias hacer postales para vender…estan preciosas…..te quiero mucho…besitos a mama y a abuela y a bisabuela y a jaime…..


Leave a Reply

