AKACOCOLOPEZ

Goodbye Summer

Posted in Culture by akacocolopez on September 28, 2009

This summer I spent most of my time in my honorary hometown Venice, Italy. I had such a great time and hopefully will be going back again next summer for school *crosses fingers*. Here’s some of my photos from my visit…I also visited Verona, Padua, Koper (Slovenia), and Rijeka (Croatia).

so yummy

the winged lion of St. Mark

i think i’ve eaten every flavor of gelato…ever

i took plenty of snapshots of all these religious images in the streets, i loved how they played with their surroundings

i killed this bee and i still feel guilty about it lol

oversized ‘sand’ in the ‘beaches’ of slovenia

loved the repetition of these crosses for sale

this is really old graffiti on some really old building near the Rialto

these things are so funny…when students graduate from the university these pop up all over town…and for their party friends get together and get the student drunk while wearing a ridiculous outfit and go around singing “dottore dottore dottore del buso del cul vaffancul” which translates to Doctor, Doctor, Doctor asshole, fuck yourself…so as to not forget where you came from. Here’s what the graduate dresses up as:

“Everything that Men Know of Women” with blank pages

My favorite church…St. Maria della Salute

For the biennale a lot of churches opened their doors up for art.

Took me quite a while to figure out I had to use my foot to get the water going…I just kept waving my hands under the faucet expecting something to happen. Damn Americans.

Loved the shells and rocks that were so easily found in the Lido.

Construction happening on my block…the canal was emptied out for it.

This artist’s street art fit perfectly with the city.

On the walls of Juliet’s house.

Once a year for the feast of the Redentore this bridge is built from the Zattere to Giudecca. At night everyone gathers together for a huge feast and fireworks, followed by a midnight mass, and finally staying up at the beach to watch the sunrise.

Very old glass.

My favorite Venetian dish, Spaghetti al Nero di Seppia aka squid ink.

Three dominicans in Venice…who would’ve thunk it.

A seagull having a pigeon for lunch.

Speaking of Dominicans…this is as close to food from home that I got polenta, sausage, beans, and fries.

Spritz party @ the Guggenheim🙂

The cruise ships were bigger than everything except San Marco’s Basilica.

Obama poster.

Loved how symmetrical this couple was.

The Giardini.

Cichetti, another plate that reminded me of home due to it’s similarity to Cuchifritos. Just fried foods: cheese, squid, sardine, shrimp, meatball.

This lost dog was too cute. I saw him wondering alone in the morning when I left and in the evening when I came back. Luckily Venice is so small he probably was found by the next day.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jay said, on September 29, 2009 at 1:25 am

    wow. nice shots. makes me wanna book a ticket tomorrow.

  2. Hrag said, on September 29, 2009 at 11:43 am

    Thanks for sharing these…now I know where you’ve been all summer.

  3. akacocolopez said, on September 29, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    Thanks for the nice comments.🙂 I had no real computer while I was out there and too many notes and photos to organize now! lol

  4. brandycoyote said, on October 7, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    Christ-on-a-Cross for sale.

  5. EC said, on May 2, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    Can I go next time? Maybe in a doggy carrier?


Leave a Reply

