AKACOCOLOPEZ

Couple of Shows

Posted in Art by akacocolopez on January 22, 2009

I’ve been a lil’ out of the loop lately…might check out these shows and see what other goodies I find along the way:

Crash (John Matos)

Unfinished Business

January 17 – February 21, 2009

Joshua Liner

Alec Soth

The Last Days of W.

January 20 – March 7

Gagosian

I’m definitely interested in checking out Soth’s Photographs in person. His words are what drew me in:

Henri Cartier-Bresson famously said, “The world is going to pieces and people like Adams and Weston are photographing rocks.” But I don’t think the world would have been a better place if these photographers had headed off to a war zone. The question is whether you can be a political photographer while you photograph rocks. My pictures don’t have a specific social commentary but I think they have social and political meaning.
–Alec Soth

I can spend hours looking at the images on his site…though they come from different places they’re all plowing towards the same direction which is something I can appreciate.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. metropolitantard said, on February 4, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    I’m absolutely sad that I’m stuck in Atlanta and cannot make it up to see Unfinished Business.


Leave a Reply

