AKACOCOLOPEZ

MoMA Staff Art Show 2008

Posted in Art, Cocolicious by akacocolopez on September 23, 2008

I was able to be a part of this biannual show this year, which is pretty cool =)…it opened earlier this month and is on until October 14th…but it’s not open to the public =(

Kristina Maria Lopez ,Untitled Misconception in Black & White, 2007, Silver Gelatin Print

More photos after the jump

Here are a few highlights of work I was drawn to:

Tom Krueger, Untitled, 2008

I loved how this piece looked in person, though it seems a little more crammed together in the photo I took.

Karlos Carcamo, Small Abstract, 2008

Not always having the best art supplies growing up, I used whatever I had…which is why I like this piece. It’s another interesting take on the power of the artist to transform the ordinary.

Ryan Magyar, Untitled, 2008

This painting creates beautiful lines of motion in black and white…kinda reminds me of a hazy hectic night that just can’t be remembered.

Keith Thompson, Reflection #11 (Tamarin) 2008

Polly Lai, Like Obama, I Want Change, 2008

Hooper Turner, Untitled (Sunglasses), 2008

Tagged with:

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Polly Lai said, on October 1, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    Karlos Carcamo was the one who told me about this… who would’ve thought that my piece is on a blog? Delighted.

    I love your choices, especially Hooper Turner, very Ricther. And do you work for MoMA? Let’s all hangout on the 14th of October when the show comes down. My extension is 9577. Great find, great job!!! Thanks

    Laip

  2. m said, on November 15, 2008 at 12:10 am

    good job!

  3. Jessica said, on August 24, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    Hey is there going to be a MoMA staff art show this year? If so, when?
    Thanks,
    Jessica


Leave a Reply

